We are pleased to announce the debut album release by Yannick Ilunga, AKA Petite Noir, ‘La Vie Est Belle / Life Is Beautiful’. The 11 track LP from the half-Congolese, half-Angolan, Cape Town-residing artist is due for release on 11th September 2015. This follows the release of his breakout EP, ‘The King Of Anxiety’, earlier this year.

Recorded at Box Ten Studios in London with Oli Bayston (Boxed In) and Leon Brichard (Ibibio), ‘La Vie Est Belle / Life Is Beautiful’ is a highly accomplished album with a unique concoction of influences. The record seamlessly fuses intricate contemporary electronics and raw post-punk energy with Yannick’s stirring, soulful vocals and African shuffles that echo his homeland. Named after a revered Congolese film of the same name, the album is both a beacon and a vessel of inspiration, offering empowerment to those who need it.

With footage filmed around the streets of Lubumbashi during Yannick’s recent trip to the Democratic Republic of Congo, the first track to be shared from the album - ‘Down’ - blends unrehearsed imagery and joyful sounds to paint a contemporary portrait of Petite Noir's Congolese background and his hopes for the country's future. Watch it below.

La Vie Est Belle / Life Is Beautiful represents the first full expression of what Ilunga calls ‘Noirwave’, which is more of a concept than a specific sound. Inspired by innovators like Mos Def and legends Fela Kuti and Tabu Ley, Noirwave encompasses a ‘new African aesthetic’, plain and simple. ‘I think for me, it's just the story their music tells and the sense of freedom. It's about seeing the positive in dark times’.

‘La Vie Est Belle / Life Is Beautiful’ will be available on CD (DS100CD), Digital (DS100D) and double vinyl LP with etched artwork on Side D (DS100LP). Pre-order the album through Dom Mart HERE and iTunes HERE, and instantly download ‘Down’.

Tracklisting:

 

1 Intro Noirwave

2 Best

3 Freedom

4 Seventeen (Stay)

5 Just Breathe

6 La Vie Est Belle / Life Is Beautiful

7 MDR

8 Colour

9 Down

10 Inside

11 Chess

Petite Noir will be playing live throughout the Summer and Autumn in support of ‘La Vie Est Belle / Life Is Beautiful’, including a London show at The Lexington on 15th September.  Full live dates are as follows:

Sat 04 July 2015 Belfort, France - Les Eurockéennes

Sat 11 July 2015 Lausanne, Switzerland - Festival de la Cite

Tue 14 July 2015 NYC, USA – Afropunk Pre-Fest event at Lot 45

Sat 18 July 2015 Dublin, Ireland - Longitude

Sun 23 August 2015 NYC, USA - Afropunk

Tue 15 September 2015 London, UK - Lexington

Wed 16 September 2015 Glasgow, UK  - Stereo

Thu 17 September 2015 Manchester, UK - Deaf Institute

Sat 19 September 2015 Nurnburg, Festival, Germany - Melt!

Mon 21 September 2015 Paris, France - Badaboum

Tues 22 September 2015 Brussels, Belgium - Botanique/Witloofbar

Thu 24 September 2015 Amsterdam, Netherlands - Melkweg

Fri 25 September 2015 Hamburg, Festival, Germany - Reeperbahn Festival

All We Are release their new single ‘Honey’ on Friday the 17th of July 2015.  Watch the accompanying video below.

In the words of All We Are, the video for ‘Honey’ “tells the story of a ghost observing the life of its former lover and the restiveness of the subject matter, juxtaposed with the upbeat nature of the tune, was captured perfectly by director Stephan Agnew. The Lynchian world of the ‘Honey’ video has a macabre and hellish feel that's tense and unsure and gives a feel for the purgatory like existence the ghost is living."

All We Are have been travelling the world since the release of their debut album in February – recently supporting both The Vaccines and MEW in the UK.  The band will be playing summer festivals and shows as follows, before their headlining London show at The Scala on the Wednesday the 14th of October:

Saturday 13TH June – UK, London, Bush Hall – Bushstock

Tuesday 16th June – UK, Cambridge, St John’s College May Ball

Thursday 18th June – Lithuania, Vilnius, Loftas

Friday 19th June – Lithuania, Kaunas

Sunday 28th June – UK, Glastonbury Festival

Friday 17th July – UK, Suffolk, Latitude Festival

Saturday 18th July – UK, Oxfordshire, Truck Festival

Friday 24th July – Portugal, Barcelos, Milhoes De Festa

Saturday 25th July – Spain, Illa De San Simon, Sinsal Festival

Friday 31st July – UK, Somerset, Farmfest

Saturday 1st August – UK, Hertfordshire, Standon Calling

Saturday 22nd August – Germany, Hamburg, Dockville Festival

Sunday 23rd August – UK, Green Man Festival

Friday 28th August – UK, Reading Festival

Saturday 29th August – UK, Leeds Festival

Friday 4th September – Poland, Gdansk, Soundrive

Sunday 6th September – Holland, Vlieland, Into The Great Wide Open

Monday 7th September – Holland, Utrecht, Tivoli Vredenburg

Wednesday 14th October – UK, London, The Scala

Ticket information for all shows is available HERE.

‘Honey’ is taken from the band’s self-titled debut album that was released on 2nd February 2015. It is available to buy digitally on iTunes and the LP and CD are available on Dom Mart

Watch the videos for previous singles Feel Safe and I Wear You, and Keep Me Alive

All We Are
All We Are

Spiritualized
Sweet Heart Sweet Light

Playing Soon