Steve Mason has announced details of the release of his new album, Meet The Humans, which is out on Double Six on Friday 26th February 2016. 

Meet the Humans is his third solo album following Boys Outside (2010) and Monkey Minds In The Devil’s Time (2013).

The track listing of the 11-track album is as follows:

1.   Water Bored

2.   Alive

3.   Alright

4.   Another Day

5.   Run Away

6.   To A Door

7.   Hardly Go Through

8.  Through My Window

9.   Planet Sizes

10.  Like Water

11. Words In My Head

Planet Sizes, the first track to be revealed from the album, is accompanied by an animated video directed by Anna Ginsburg ( which can be viewed below.

Written at home by Mason, the tracks were then rehearsed in Brighton with touring band mates Steve Duffield and Greg Nielson, before being recorded with Elbow keyboardist and producer Craig Potter at Blueprint Studios in Salford.  Recorded in the studios ‘big room’, an ex-factory space with floor to ceiling windows, the album took shape during a smooth and enjoyable six weeks in the early summer of 2015.

Following from his ‘double political concept album’ ‘Monkey Minds In The Devil’s Time’ this album is a move towards a more simple ethic; ‘an album where each song is a separate entity, where there is no great narrative running through it.’

Meet The Humans’ is shot through with a sense of renewal following Steve’s recent move to Brighton, swinging musically across dance, pop, folk, dub, and deep house influences.  It’s a record which repeatedly returns to core themes, the possibility of others to redeem the self, the opportunity of change for the better in the individual, the joy of life and the world we inhabit, it’s arguably the most complete and direct of Steve’s long discography - eleven personal stories combined into one positive and proper whole, the sweep of the human condition written large and full of love and hope and joy.

Meet The Humans’ will be available on CD (DS107CD), vinyl (DS107LP) and digitally (DS107D).  You can pre-order the album via Dom Mart and iTunes.

Steve has also announced a couple of shows around the release of the record. Further shows will be announced shortly.

The list of current dates is as follows:


10th  Southampton  Engine Rooms

11th  Brighton  Concorde 2

Tickets for both shows are available via

M:FANS, a radical new reworking of one of John Cale’s most unique and lauded solo records, the 1982 masterpiece Music For A New Society, will be released on 22nd January 2016 on Double Six / Domino. Watch the video for album track ‘Close Watch’  - featuring Dirty Projectors’ Amber Coffman and directed by Abby Portner 

Music For A New Society will also be available fully re-mastered from 22nd January 2016, with 3 previously unreleased bonus tracks from the original multi-track recordings.

Alongside the new release, Cale will be performing live as part of London Roundhouse’s In The Round series on 3rd February 2016, coinciding with the new release. Tickets are on sale now HERE.

M:FANS explores the relationship between old and new, in terms of the sound and vision, and Cale’s memories of the experience, in terms of his life and the recording. Back and forth M:FANS goes, sampling the original, while creating brand new soundscapes, giving Cale the opportunity for closure on one of the most testing eras of his life, and a way to keep moving forward.

“Making any form of art is always personal to my mind. During the making of M:FANS, I found myself loathing each and every character written about in those original recording sessions of Music For... ,” says Cale of the reworking. “Unearthing those tapes reopened those wounds.  It was time to decimate the despair from 1981 and breathe new energy, re-write the story.  Then, the unthinkable happened. What had informed so much over lost and twisted relationships in 1981 had now come full circle. Losing Lou [too painful to understand] forced me to upend the entire recording process and begin again...a different perspective - a new sense of urgency to tell a story from a completely opposite point of view - what was once sorrow, was now a form of rage.  A fertile ground for exorcism of things gone wrong and the realization they are unchangeable.  From sadness came the strength of fire!!!”

With Cale’s current band (which had featured on his last studio album Shifty Adventures in Nookie Wood) again involved, the new versions that constitute M:FANS are more fleshed-out, heavier concoctions, in line with his current electronic/chopped-up configurations.

In 1982, Music For A New Society sounded exactly like its title: something futuristic, a new kind of songwriting exercise. In 2015, M:FANS is exactly that too, full of electrical crackle and disturbed frequencies, a different kind of dystopian future awaits. John Cale forages on; it’s the only way he knows how.

M:FANS and Music For A New Society will be released as a 2xCD package with both albums also packaged together on digital stores.

Both albums will also be available on 12” vinyl, with M:FANS arriving on 2xLP. Music For A New Society comes with a download card of the three unreleased bonus tracks as listed in the track listings below.

Pre-order M:FANS on 12” vinyl via Dom Mart HERE

Pre-order Music For A New Society on 12” vinyl via Dom Mart HERE

Pre-order Music For A New Society / M:FANS on 2xCD HERE

Pre-order Music For A New Society / M:FANS digitally HERE




1. Prelude

2. If You Were Still Around

3. Taking Your Life In Your Hands

4. Thoughtless Kind

5. Sanctus (Sanities Mix)

6. Broken Bird

7. Chinese Envoy

8. Changes Made

9. Library Of Force (feat. Man In The Book excerpt)

10. Close Watch

11. If You Were Still Around (Choir Reprise)

12. Back To The End

Music For A New Society – re-mastered:

1. Taking Your Life In Your Hands

2. Thoughtless Kind

3. Sanctus (Sanities)

4. If You Were Still Around

5. Close Watch

6. Broken Bird

7. Chinese Envoy

8. Changes Made

9. Damn Life

10. Risé, Sam And Rimsky Korsakov

11. Library Of Force (Unreleased)

12. Chinese Envoy (Outtakes)

13. Thoughtless kind (Outtakes)

All We Are
All We Are

Sweet Heart Sweet Light

Playing Soon